A Multimedia Concert Letters of Hanoi

A Multimedia Concert Letters of Hanoi

Posted on

IF Hanoi

Hanoi: Sat 30 Nov 2019, 8 pm
Youth Theatre
11 Ngo Thi Nham, Hanoi

HCMC: Thu 28 Nov 2019, 8 pm
HCMC Conservatory of Music
112 Nguyen Du, Dist 1, HCMC

From L’Espace:

You are invited to A Multimedia Concert Letters of Hanoi. This program is in the framework of European Music Festival in Vietnam 2019.

Lương Huệ Trinh: composition, electronics & visuals
Jean-David Caillouët: composition, sonic landscapes, guitar & visuals
Đoàn Thanh Bình: traditional singer
Nguyễn Xuân Sơn (SonX): traditional percussions
Minh-Tâm Nguyen: western percussions
Pablo Tognant: cello
Emmanuel Labrande: poem

While doing his military service in Vietnam in 1927-1928, the French poet and author Jean Tardieu wrote letters which provide a unique portray of the times. Two of those letters were published posthumously at the author’s request and translated into Vietnamese in a bilingual publication entitled ‘Lettres de Hanoi/Thư Hà Nội’. The poetic language of those letters displays great sensitivity in describing the people, culture and landscapes of Vietnam with extraordinary insight…

Taking inspiration from this evocative text, the composers Lương Huệ Trinh and Jean-David Caillouët have created pieces exploring the complex relationship and history between their two respective countries. Combining Western and traditional Vietnamese instruments, electronics and video as well as a newly written poem by Emmanuel Labrande, the concert will feature performances by an exclusively Franco-Vietnamese cast: SonX from Vietnam National Opera & Ballet (Hanoi), Minh-Tâm Nguyen from Les Percussions de Strasbourg, Pablo Tognan from the ensemble Multilatéral (Paris) and conservatoire de Romainville, Jean-David Caillouët from Princess Galyani Vadhana Institute of Music (Bangkok), Đoàn Thanh Bình and Lương Huệ Trinh (Hanoi).

1. Oblique Light
by Lương Huệ Trinh
for percussions, cello, voice, electronics and poem

2. The sea inside
by Jean-David Caillouët
for cello, electric guitar and electronics

3. The winds and the hours
Solo electronics by Lương Huệ Trinh
Live video by Jean-David Caillouët

4. Return Ticket 1 : Soldier n.560
by Jean-David Caillouët
for percussion duet

5. The capricious despotic power of the elements
by all artists

6. Return Ticket 2 : Typewriter
by Jean-David Caillouët
for percussion duet

7. The net of imagination
by Lương Huệ Trinh
for voice, cello and electronics
8. Thoughts change colours
by Jean-David Caillouët
for voice, cello, percussions and electric guitar.

Free tickets can be registered here.

For more information about European Music Festival in Vietnam 2019, visit here.

Follow updates on event’s page.

Similar Articles


Leave a Reply