Chamber Concert with Woodwinds Quintet of Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra

Chamber Concert with Woodwinds Quintet of Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra

Posted on

Concert with Woodwinds Quintet

Wed 13 Apr 2016, 8 pm
Goethe Institut

From Goethe Institut:
You are invited to a chamber concert with the woodwinds quintet of the Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra. The “New Wind Ensemble” plays music by Strauß, Mozart, Cambini, Farkas and Ibert.

Flute: Nguyen Thi Dieu Quynh
Oboe: Hoang Manh Lam
Bassoon: Tran Minh Duc
Horn: Ta Tien Dat
Clarinet: Nguyen Minh Hoang

This year, the Goethe-Institut Hanoi and the Vietnam National Symphony Orchestra (VNSO) host a series of concerts, opened by two chamber concerts in spring. The wide repertoire of our first concert with the windwoods quintet of the VNSO covers lively Viennese dance music from the 19th century as well as cheerful Parisian tones from the 1930s.

Our program starts with an entertaining Polka by Johann Strauß the Elder (1804-1849). The so called “Damen-Souvenir-Polka“ is a joyful circle dance in vivid two-fourth meter. Also composed by the Father is the “Beliebte Annen-Polka”, which premiered at Vienna’s Volksgarten in summer 1842. Its atmospheric melody gives an idea about the festivity of the former balls in Vienna. Strauß dedicated the polka to Maria Anna, then Empress of Austria. His son, Johann Strauß the Younger (1825-1899), who is internationally known as “The Waltz King”, composed some marches, too. At this evening we will hear the “Egyptian March” from 1869.

Less prominent might be the Italian violinist and composer Giuseppe Maria Cambini (1746-1825), who primarily worked in Paris and played a key role concerning the development of the classic wind quintet comprising the instruments flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon. Besides Cambini, the Hungarian composer Ferenc Farkas (1905-2000) will be taken into account with his Hungarian Dances, before the ensemble performs a “Divertimento” by Mozart (1756-1791). The “Trois Pièces Brèves” by Jacques Ibert (1890-1962) will conclude the evening.


Johann Strauß (the Father): Damen-Souvenir-Polka, op. 236
Giuseppe Maria Cambini: Quintett Nr. 2 in d-Moll
Johann Strauß (the Father): Beliebte Annen-Polka, op. 137
Johann Strauß (the Son): Ägyptischer Marsch, op. 335
Ferenc Farkas: Antiche Danze Ungheresi
W. A. Mozart: Divertimento Nr. 8 (KV 213)
Jacques Ibert: Trois Pièces Brèves

L. v. Beethoven Streichquartett Nr. 4, op. 18
A. Borodin Streichquartett D-Dur

Due to the limited number of seats we kindly ask only visitors from the age of 12 and up to come.
Free tickets for 13th of April are available from Monday, 4th of April, at 9am at the Goethe-Institut Hanoi.

Listen to “Damen-Souvenir-Polka” – the opening composition by Strauß here:

Goethe-Institut Hanoi
56-58 Nguyen Thai Hoc, Ba Dinh, Hanoi
Tel.: +84 4 37342251
Fax: +84 4 37342254
[email protected]


Leave a Reply