Concert with Ensemble Phoenix München

Concert with Ensemble Phoenix München

Posted on


Hanoi: Fri 29 Nov 2019, 8 pm
Youth Theatre
11 Ngo Thi Nham, Hanoi

HCMC: Wed 27 Nov 2019, 8 pm
HCMC Conservatory of Music
112 Nguyen Du, Dist 1, HCMC

From Goethe Institut:

You are invited to concert with Ensemble Phoenix München, this year’s German artist for EU Music Festival.

The ensemble earned an international reputation for its historically correct and authentic plays. The musicians perform on original instruments or replicas. They do guest performances at Innsbrucker Festwochen der Alten Musik, Tage Alter Musik Herne, Gent Festival OdeGand, Festival Internacional de Arte Sacro in Madrid or Prager Frühling or Budapester Frühlingsfestival, to name just a few. The repertoire consists of works from Renaissance and Baroque. In addition to that the ensemble commissions pieces from contemporary composers.

Since its establishment in 2003 Ensemble Phoenix Munich was awarded numerous times for its records and concerts (e. g. The Elfin Knight, Rose of Sharon, Requiem for a Pink Moon) of Old Music.

Joel Frederiksen and the instrumentalists will not play on their own, but be accompanied by sopranist Julla von Landsberg. The performance is part of the tour “Fürchtet Euch nicht!” (“Don’t fear!”) with a program of 17 pieces, among them works of Schütz and Monteverdi.


Joel Frederiksen
Joel Frederiksen studied vocals and lute in New York and Michigan, where he finished with a master’s degree. He worked together with leading ensembles for Old Music like the Boston Camerata and Waverly Consort. Apart from that he called attention to himself as an opera- and oratorios singer. Engagements lead him from the famous Vancouver Summer Festival to festivals from Hong Kong to Brisbane. After his successful debut in 1998 at Salzburger Feststpiele Joel Frederiksen settled in Europe. With Munich as his base he travels Germany and foreign countries, to perform together with the most important groups for Old Music (like Jordi Savall, Huelgas Ensemble, Freiburger Barockorchester) as a vocalist.

Apart from that he is occupied with his own programs and his special field: the lute-play of Renaissance and Early Baroque. Countless awards give credit to the artists originality and stylistic assurance.

Julla von Landsberg
The sopranist Julla von Landsberg started her studies at Münchner Konservatorium and continued her learnings at institute for Old Music Trossingen, where she established Ensemble Santenay – Music of the Middle Ages – together with fellow students of her.

She got her diploma in 2009 at Leipzig University of Music and Theater. Since then she lives as a freelancing vocalist in Berlin. International engagements and numerous records give credit for her presence in the scene of Old Music.

She gets important influences for her artistic work by her recent cooperation with the free Berlin theater ensemble Nico and the Navigators.

A performance of “The Flaming Fire” by Ensemble Phoenix Munich:

Julla von Landsberg, Sopranist
Joel Frederiksen, Bass, Lute, director
Theona Gubba-Chkheidze, Violin
Emily Deans, Violin
Domen Marinčič, Gamba
Axel Wolf, Theorbo
Michael Eberth, Cembalo


Lord, who will live in your hut – Christoph Bernhard (1628-1692)

Hurry, Lord, to save me (SWV 282) – Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672)

I lay and sleep (SWV 310) – Schütz

When our eyes lay to rest (SWV 316) – Schütz

Toccata prima (Buch IV) – Giovanni Girolamo

Kapsberger (1580-1651)

Lord, when I have you (BuxWV. 38) – Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

Sonata Nr. II in e-minor – Johann Rosenmüller (1619-1684)

Lord, let your servant go in peace (SWV 352) – Schütz

Don’t fear – Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707)


Fugge il verno dei dolori – Claudio Monteverdi (1567–1643)

Dalla porta d’oriente – Giulio Caccini (1551-1618)

Maledetto sia l’aspetto (Scherzi musicali, 1632) – Claudio Monteverdi

Dolci miei sospiri (Scherzi musicali, 1607) – Claudio Monteverdi

Damigella tutta bella (Scherzi musicali, 1607) – Claudio Monteverdi

Io che nell’otio nacqui (Madrigali guerrieri et amorosi, 1638) – Claudio Monteverdi

Sonata sopra la monica (Sonate, symphonie, canzonette, 1629) – Biagio Marini
O rosetta (Scherzi musicali, 1607) – Claudio Monteverdi


To get free tickets in Hanoi, click here
To get free tickets in HCMC, click here


Leave a Reply