Contemporary Classical Concert “Taste of Time”

Contemporary Classical Concert “Taste of Time”

Posted on

Mon 17 Dec 2018, 8 pm
24 – 26 Trang Tien, Hanoi

From Hanoi New Music Festival 2018:

“Taste of Time… “Taste” of months and years, of the beautiful sunset, of the VOICES at the horizon – colors of the relentless impulses stirring on the savine canopy – gradually descending into the dark – be it deep, be it infinite…” (Kim Ngoc)

“Taste of Time” – Contemporary Classical Concert features 7 distinctive compositions of Southeast Asian musicians. With their inspiration taken from each author’s own culture and their personal experiences, coupled with the sensibility of our performers, these works blend into an aftertaste of time and space lingering in each audience’s mind.

“String Quartet No. 2 – Flashbacks”
– Composer: Nguyen Minh Nhat (Vietnam)
– Conductor: Kee Yong Chong (Malaysia)
– Musicians: Nguyen Thien Minh/ violin, Nguyen Thi Huyen Anh/ violin, Do Huong Tra My/ viola, Hoang The Phuc/ cello
– Statement: “The work was commissioned by the Fresh Inc summer festival in honor of the composer Steven R. Gerber. This commission was made possible by the Steven R. Gerber Trust. About the music, microtones are present throughout the piece, either in little sprinkles or manifested in a larger section, to explore the possibilities on string instruments of imitating some of the vocal techniques found in the Vietnamese traditional genre called “ca trù”. This is coupled with the extensive use of the ricochet, an effect, perhaps, closely related to glottal singing.”

“Moon” for solo cello
– Composer: @vu nhat tan (Vietnam)
– Musician: Dao Tuyet Trinh
– Statement: “[trang] is based on stylistic features of vietnamese traditional music of “ca tru”, which include long slides, strident picks on the string, and violent bow strokes. [trang] are also the outline of a tiny “lighting” line expressed across the sky that like a bridge across the river..”

“Three Pieces” for solo violin
– Composer: Michael Asmara (Indonesia)
– Musician: Nguyễn Thiện Minh
– Statement: “Dedicated to Rieko Suzuki.”

“Jing Hong” for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and percussion
– Composer: Kee Yong Chong (Malaysia)
– Conductor: Kee Yong Chong (Malaysia)
– Musicians: Nguyen Thien Minh/violin, Nguyen Trong Bang/ flute, Nguyen Minh Hoang/ clarinet, Hoang The Phuc/ cello, Lu Manh Cuong/ percussion
– Statement:”Jing Hong” is written after reading and moved by Cao Zi’s “Luoshen Appraisal”: “With elegance of a swan, grace of a dragon”-By Cao Zi’s “Luoshen Appraisal” / 翩若惊鸿,婉若游龙。——曹植《洛神赋》
I always admire musicians who perform on stage , fully concentrating in order to achieve the elegance and grace like the expression of the poem above.

“My Spirit is Dancing” for solo piano
– Composer: Yii Kah Hoe (Malaysia)
– Musician: Trang Trinh
– Statement: “My spirit is dancing is inspired by Balinese Baris dance, the hand movement and gestures of the dancer has been transformed into fingering and hand position on the piano.”

“7 Pieces for Small Ensemble” for flute, clarinet, soprano, violin, violoncello, piano
– Composer: Alexander John Villanueva (Philippines)
– Conductor: Kee Yong Chong (Malaysia)
– Musicians: Nguyen Thien Minh/ violin, Nguyen Trong Bang/ flute, Nguyen Minh Hoang/ clarinet, Hoang The Phuc/ cello, Doan Le Phan Anh/ piano, Loan Dao To/ soprano
– Statement: “7 Pieces for Small Ensemble was specifically written for the Ripieno Ensemble. It was premiered in Hong Kong Academy of the Performing Arts in June 2015 as part of the Modern Academy organized by the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble. It has had performances in the Quezon City and Los Baños, Laguna in the Philippines in 2015, as part of the Manila Composers Lab in 2016, and the China – ASEAN Music Festival in Nanning, China in 2017.
7 Pieces for Small Ensemble is a conglomeration of musical ideas I have had since 2012 as each piece employs a different style and compositional technique that can be traced back to previous works I have had. The notion of colorful songs and vivid poetries which are very strongly grounded in Philippine culture especially in the traditional kundiman is the main thrust of this work along with the notions of western contemporary musical praxis. It is my intention in this piece to portray the spirit of the kundiman as an art song in the Philippines as well as the Philippine context of contemporary music through the use of poetry.”

“… as this music happens, so do I” for violin, bamboo flute, cello, tranh and video
– Composer: AnoThai Nitibhon (Thailand)
– Musician: Nguyen Thien Minh/ violin, Phuc Hoang/ cello, Le Duy/ bamboo flute, Nguyen Thi Thuy/ tranh

Register for our concert pass HERE

If you have any questions about the schedule, please inbox us. Questions about concert pass, please contact our hotline number, Ms Thanh (0912431834).


After our contemporary classical concert “Taste of Time”, only a few blocks away on the same side of the street (absolutely within your walking distance) is a completely different space and time and spirit packed in our Night Club Experimental!

featuring DJ Sniff from Japan
Venue: GU (34 Trang Tien)
Time: 22h30 – 00h00, Dec 17, 2018

DJ Sniff (Takuro Mizuta Lippit) is a musician and curator in the field of experimental electronic arts and improvised music. His musical work builds upon a distinct practice that combines DJing, instrument design, and free improvisation.

Follow updates on event’s page


Leave a Reply